Changing my spots

Recently I purchased an awesome silver and stone bracelet from Ebay.  The stone (Larimar) can only be found in the Dominican Republic and is supposed to help soothe, calm, and center me along with bringing in peace and harmony.

Well…the entire process was less than harmonious.  When I attempted to try on the bracelet the toggle would not go through the hole (I’m sure there is another name for ‘the hole’ but whatever).  I thought I was doing something wrong but I tried several times with the same result.  Oh well…  I did like the bracelet so I sent an email to the company explaining what was wrong with the bracelet and that I would return it for repair but would NOT be paying the shipping charges.  They agreed to repair the bracelet and reimburse whatever I paid for shipping.

Awesome!  So I shipped it off.  When it came back to me the toggle part fit – sporadically.  Apparently they attempted to repair it by squeezing the toggle to make it smaller and fit into the hole.  Oh. Hell. No! 

I snapped off another email letting them know that not only would I be returning the bracelet, I would also give them very low marks and totally mess up their 99.7% customer satisfaction.  But while on their site I got another idea:  I am a pretty handy gal – why not have them supply a silver clasp so I can repair the bracelet myself?  They agreed.

The clasp came in a “postage due” package!  WTF?  This stone was not working for me at all.  I was not even close to feeling peaceful, harmonious, or centered.  I was pissed!    There was no way I could keep this bracelet.  Every time I looked at it I was reminded of how the company tried to screw me.  I’ll show them!  I had a few un-submitted reviews for other products I had bought from them so I could significantly lower their scores with bad reviews. 

But…in the middle of my anger I began to laugh.   I suddenly remembered another time I allowed my anger to get the best of me:  In 2006 I had a “cake” job.  I worked at a local hospital in the outpatient center.  I got to work at 1:30 p.m. and worked until 10 p.m.  I loved waking up late and would hike or go to the gym almost every day before work and rarely did we have patients that kept us beyond 8 p.m.   Weekends were not required and we got holidays off.  Being from a Post Anesthesia Care (PACU) background, I found recovering outpatients super easy and most of the time the OPC was empty while we waited for patients to return from their procedures.  I can count on one hand the amount of times anything serious happened and with 2 RNs and a monitor tech; emergencies were easily and quickly handled.  This was truly a dream job.

My dream job came to an end one day when one of the early shift nurses needed a leave of absence and my supervisor, without my input,  scheduled me for some of her shifts.  WTH?  I don’t do early!  I was livid. I quit that same day. 

With the bracelet I realized I was reacting in a similar way.  And to what end?  I would be out a lovely bracelet – all for the cost of $1.27 postage.  I would probably regret my decision as I still regret my decision to quit my job.  And the company (just like the OPC) would survive without me.

In that instant I reframed my association with the bracelet.  I decided to look at it and see the day when I consciously chose how to BE in each moment rather than allow an old program to run unchecked.  

I paid the extra postage and the company reimbursed me.

I am now looking at the bracelet and smiling.  I feel peaceful, centered, and calm remembering the instant I chose to change my spots.

 “Every time you are tempted to react in the same old way, ask if you want to be a prisoner of the past or a pioneer of the future” ~ Deepak Chopra

Courtni ~ The Soul Muse

About Courtni

Nurse, healer, artist and deep thinker ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing my spots

  1. Great post! I too have old programs running and find myself either caught up in past decisions, or trying to force my future. This was a great reminder to just BE. Thoroughly appreciate the time and effort you put into this.

What are you thinking?

